Saturday, January 12, 2013

Blog Tour: The Lesson (Review)

M.K. has grown up and is ready to set the world on fire.

Or at least find a way out of Stoney Ridge.

In the third book in her Stoney Ridge series, SuzanneWoods Fisher dives into M.K's story and shows how everyone - not just Mary Kate - have a lesson or two to learn about life, love and more.

It's an interesting conclusion to the three book series. I'm going to be honest and say this was not my favorite story. I liked the books about M.K.'s older sisters.

But like a pesky younger sibling, M.K's tale kind of grows on you - in a good way. No only does M.K. learn a lesson, or two, about love and life expectations - especially when she's pulled into substitute teaching at the one room school; but she helps teach her father and Chris lessons that ultimately help soothe their hearts and souls.

On the scale of one to five, this is a solid three. But I give the series at least a four. Once again, Suzanne Woods Fisher has created a series of "bonnet" books (the nickname for Amish fiction) that resonate with the truth. It will be interesting to see what she comes up with next!

More About The Book
Centered on one of Suzanne Woods Fisher's most loved characters, this is the story fans have eagerly anticipated.

The precocious M.K. is all grown up (well, almost) and ready to take on the world-with surprising results. Fisher's trademark plot twists and turns are as unexpected and satisfying as ever in this third book in the Stoney Ridge Seasons series.

In her wildest dreams, spunky and impulsive nineteen-year-old Mary Kate Lapp never imagined herself behind a schoolteacher's desk. A run-in (literally) with the schoolteacher compels her to act as a substitute teacher, just as her restless desire to see the world compels her to apply for a passport . . . just in case.

The only thing of interest to M.K. in the sleepy Amish community of Stoney Ridge is the unexplained death of a sheep farmer that coincided with the arrival of a mysterious young man into the community. Frustrated that no one takes the crime seriously, she takes matters into her own hands. Unfortunately, as tends to be the case for M.K., she jumps headlong into trouble.

More About The Author
Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of the Lancaster County Secrets series and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the coauthor of a new Amish children's series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp.

Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner and a Christy Award finalist.

She is the host of internet radio show Amish Wisdom and a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. For more information, please visit and connect with her on Twitter @suzannewfisher. Get Amish proverbs delivered right to your iphone or ipad! Download the Free App!

Online Resources
Visit her website: 
Buy it online here: 

Other Books In The Series
The Keeper
The Haven 

It's A Contest
Celebrate the release of The Lesson with Suzanne Woods Fisher by entering to win one of TWO iPads!

Two winners will receive:
  • A brand new iPad
  • A $15 gift certificate to iTunes
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on January 20th. Winner will be announced on 1/22/13 at Suzanne's Blog.

Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER
and increase your chances of winning.

As a freelance journalist, I was provided a copy of this book by Litfuse Publicity Group. This review was not influenced by a free book - just in case you (or the FTC) were worried about this detail.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...