Saturday, February 18, 2012

Blog Tour: When The Smoke Clears (Review)

High school reunions can be deadly.

Or at least the ones that take place when Lynette Eason is in a creative mode.

In her second trilogy of suspense novels, published by Revell Books, Eason captures the lives of three high school friends, Alexia Allen, Jillian Carter and Serena Hopkins, and their connection to a desperate senator - who will do anything to protect his image and career.

With the first installment of the series, When The Smoke Clears, Eason unpacks Alexia's story. As things unfold, we learn why Alexia ran away from her hometown following high school graduation, why her relationship with her mother is strained, what happened on a fateful day when her world and family exploded. We also struggle, along with Alexia to determine who wants her dead.

This series follows on the heals of Eason's Women of Justice novels. Like that series, Deadly Reunions center around strong female lead characters. And like the Women of Justice series, the suspense and intrigue take center stage, with the romantic storyline a secondary aspect.

Eason's writing is solid. Her character development is superb The book hooked me from the start. (Actually I was hooked as soon as I opened the package and it fell out in my hands.)

The book left me wanting more - I assume the second book will follow Serena's story based upon how the first novel ended. I also hope it reveals more of how the three women are connected to the senator.

On a scale of one to five I give this novel a solid four. .If you are looking for a great novel (and series) to dive into this spring, I would highly recommend Deadly Reunions and When The Smoke Clears. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

More About The Book
After a brush with death due to equipment failure, smoke jumper Alexia Allen is ordered to take time off while the incident is under investigation. She makes a last-minute decision to recuperate at her mother's home and attend her high school reunion. 

Yet trouble seems to be following her, and within hours of arriving home she is confronted with murder, arson--and a handsome detective.

But the conflicts ahead are nothing compared to the ghosts of her past. As she struggles to accept and forgive her family's past, she must also decide if the secret she's been guarding for the last ten years must finally come to light.

Chock-full of the suspense and romantic tension you've come to expect from Lynette Eason, When the Smoke Clears is the explosive first book in the Deadly Reunions series.

About The Author
Lynette Eason is the author of several romantic suspense novels, including Too Close to Home, Don't Look Back, and A Killer Among Us.

She is a member of American Fiction Christian Writers and Romance Writers of America. A homeschooling mother of two, she has a master's degree in education from Converse College. She lives in South Carolina.

Online Resources
Buy When The Smoke Clears @ Amazon
Check out Lynette Eason's website
Find the Reader's Group Guide here

Past Reviews of Eason's Books
Too Close To Home (Review)
Don't Look Back (Review & Interview) 
A Killer Among Us (Review) 

Note: As a freelance journalist, I was provided a copy of this book by Revell Publishing, a division of Baker Books. This review was not influenced by a free book - just in case you (or the FTC) were worried about this detail.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...