Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Blog Tour: Sons of Thunder (Review)

Sophie Frangos is torn between the love of two men and the promise that binds them all together. 

Markos Stavros loves Sophie from afar while battling his thirst for vengeance and his hunger for honor. 

Dino Stavros, Markos' quiet and intelligent brother, simply wants to forget the horror that drove them from their Greek island home to start a new life in America. 

One of these sons of thunder offers a future she longs for, the other the past she lost. From the sultry Chicago jazz clubs of the roaring twenties to the World War II battlefields of Europe to a final showdown in a Greek island village, they'll discover betrayal, sacrifice and finally redemption. Most of all, when Sophie is forced to make her choice, she'll learn that God honors the promises made by the Sons of Thunder. 

Sons of Thunder - the book which launches the new romattic suspense line for Summerside Press (now available at various locations including Wal-Mart) - is written as three novellsa - three stories in three different settings.

What I Thought
I really liked this book. It's different from the other books by Warren I have read, including the PJ Sugar series. In the book's introduction, Warren talks about how she came up with the story idea after getting into a conversation with a stranger on a flight - it's amazing what you can glean from one of these "God-instance" conversations.

The storyline, following Sophie and the two Stavros brothers, provided an interesting hook. You want to keep reading - as you follow the characters from Greek to America and well, back to the European theatre of World War II.

With a few unexpected twists and turns, Warren's novel is full of realism. In fact, that realism amazed me at times.

Warren did not shy away from the "grit and grime of life" in several scenes. In fact, I'm impressed that her editors let a few scenes into the novel - I'm used to the vanilla nature of Christian fiction.

Without being gratuitous, Warren shows us some of the painful choices the characters are forced to make (by their choices or because of the actions of others) because of life circumstances. This "realism" allows Warren to show how God's grace can work in the lives of everyone - despite our broken, frail human nature.

I'm looking forward to seeing where Warren takes this series. The realism in this storyline complements the "humor" found many of her other novels.

(Pst...spoiler alert - want to know more about Book 2 - Click here! Breath of Lions is set to come out in August.)

Part the Waters - Book 3 in the series - is set for a 2011 release.

More About Susan May Warren
Susan May Warren is the award-winning author of seventeen novels and novellas with Tyndale, Steeple Hill and Barbour Publishing. Her first book, Happily Ever After won the American Fiction Christian Writers Book of the Year in 2003, and was a 2003 Christy Award finalist. In Sheep's Clothing, a thriller set in Russia, was a 2006 Christy Award finalist and won the 2006 Inspirational Reader's Choice award. A former missionary to Russia, Susan May Warren now writes Suspense/Romance and Chick Lit full time from her home in northern Minnesota. Learn more about Susan here:

Check out what others are saying about the book:

Want to Read More About the Series?

Want to Read An Excerpt From Sons of Thunder?

It's A Contest!
Be sure to check out Susan's fun contest for the book's release: Each one of us has a wealth of stories from the past – while they might not all be as sweeping and dramatic as that of Sons of Thunder’s Sofia and the Stravos brothers (swoon), your family history is a treasure nonetheless.

Well – let’s hear them! Were your great-grandparents ‘fresh off the boat’? Was your great uncle a war hero? Did your grandmother make unbelievable sacrifices to help or protect the family? Did your father harbor a family secret until his death? Are you related to someone famous? Do you have a family treasure? Whatever it is that is unique in your family history – share your story HERE! (click on the SHARE button)

One grand prize winner will receive:
• Memory Prize package containing a gift certificate to create your own hard cover photo book
• 6 month membership to Netflix (to satisfy that flick fix!)
• Signed copy of Sons of Thunder!

5 runners up will also win signed copies of Sons of Thunder!

You can also be entered to win a copy of Sons of Thunder by helping us Spread the Word during the blog tour!

TWEET THIS:(must use hashtag #SonsofThunder to be entered - no limit on entries! Tweet away!)
Please RT! @susanmaywarren launches new Romantic Suspense #SonsofThunder. Share your story 2 win a fab prize pack!

Want to Read Other Books by Susan May Warren?
Double Trouble -

The Great Christmas Bowl -

Nothing But Trouble -

Editor's Note: As a freelance journalist, I was provided a copy of this book by Litfuse Publicity Group. This review was not influenced by a free book - just in case you (or the FTC) were worried about this detail.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...