Monday, March 22, 2010

Blog Tour: Scattered Petals (Review)

Longing for adventure, Priscilla Morton leaves Boston in 1856 and heads for the Texas Hill Country, never dreaming that the adventure she seeks could have heartbreaking consequences. Although attracted to her, ranch foreman Zachary Webster knows Priscilla deserves a cultured East Coast gentleman, not a cowboy who's haunted by memories of his mistakes.

When necessity draws them together, Priscilla and Zach begin to forge a life filled with promise. But then the past intrudes.

Book 2 of the Texas Dreams series, Scattered Petals by Amanda Cabot weaves a tale of drama, love, and second chances as beautiful as the Hill Country itself.

What I Thought
Wow. I'll be honest, this book has an opening that will grab you in unexpected ways.

Cabot weaves a tale that includes pain, tragedy and redemption - through her main two characters & their families. Hard to read at times (because of the story line) the book definitely shows you how God can work in a person's life, despite the choices other people make (got to love free will).

Even though this was "book 2" of the series, it stood "alone." Which was good because I haven't read the first book.

The way Cabot crafts the story, allows new readers to feel as if they know the characters, without a lot of effort. - Although, it would have been helpful to know what happened in the first book when it relates to a large secondary plot (spoiler alert - the one dealing with the mayor's son), since I got a bit lost figuring out how it related to the main male character - Zach Webster. - I was eventually able to decipher what was going on, but it took a while.

Overall though, I appreciated this story and it's honest nature. Even though it was an historical novel, many of the story lines could have been pulled form today's headlines (situations may change by time but the themes remain true).

Resources You Can Use
Want to read an excerpt? Click Here!
Want to download a discussion guide? Click Here!

Purchase This Book
Barnes & Noble

More About Cabot
Amanda Cabot is an accomplished author under various pen names and a popular speaker. The author of Paper Roses, she is also a charter member of Romance Writers of America, the co-founder of its New Jersey chapter, a member of the ACFW, and an avid traveler.

Want to Read the First Novel?
 Her future stretched out like the clear blue Texas sky.

But a storm is coming.

Leaving the past behind in Philadelphia, mail-order bride Sarah Dobbs arrives in San Antonio ready to greet her groom--a man she has never met but whose letters, her paper roses, have won her heart from afar. But there is a problem--Austin Canfield is dead, and Sarah cannot go back East.

As Sarah tries to reconcile herself to a future that is drastically changed, Austin's brother Clay wants nothing more than to shake the Texas dust from his boots, but first he must find his brother's killer. And then there's Sarah.

Something is blooming out in the vast Texas landscape that neither Clay nor Sarah is ready to admit, and the promise of redemption blows like a gentle breeze through the prairie grasses.

Book 1 of the Texas Dreams series, Paper Roses will sweep you away with a tale of love, loss, and tantalizing possibilities.

About the Publisher
Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, offers practical books that bring the Christian faith to everyday life.  They publish resources from a variety of well-known brands and authors, including their partnership with MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) and Hungry Planet. For more information, visit

Note: As a freelance journalist, I was provided a copy of this book by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. This review was not influenced by a free book - just in case you (or the FTC) were worried about this detail.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...